Management committee

The ASAP Management Committee has nine members who have expertise in the legal profession, asylum support, human resources, finance and fundraising, communications/marketing and charity management.  

Current ASAP Management Committee members are:

Mike Spencer (Chair)

Mike is a solicitor-advocate who specialises in social welfare law.   He joined ASAP as a volunteer in 2009 and worked as ASAP's solicitor between 2010 and 2012.  He is currently the Legal Officer of the Child Poverty Action Group.  He was a finalist in the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards 2015 (social welfare category).  Mike joined the ASAP management committee in 2017.

Paul Yates (Vice Chair)

Paul Yates runs the UK pro bono practice of a leading international law firm, so brings to the ASAP MC a detailed knowledge of the pro bono and wider legal advice sectors. Paul is a solicitor advocate and was previously seconded to the legal and policy teams of human rights NGO Liberty. Paul has been an ASAP duty scheme volunteer and an MC member since 2009, charity secretary from 2010 and vice-chair from 2013.  

David Garratt

Dave has worked in advice services in the UK for 20 years. Beginning as a volunteer in street homeless services, he developed extensive grounding in working with vulnerable people with complex needs. He began managing homeless services in 1995, developing first single services, then networks of residential and day-care provision. Moving to the refugee sector in 1999, Dave spent 15 years as a senior manager for Refugee Action, first as Operations Director and then, from 2010-15, as CEO. Dave joined ASAP’s management committee in January 2015 and is also a trustee of the charity Student Action for Refugees.

Kat Lorenz

Kat has worked in the advice sector since 2001, and at Refugee Action since 2003 in a range of roles. Between 2003-2011 these focused on asylum support policy work. She was involved in the case challenging safety of route of return to Iraq in 2004, which led to a significant increase in S4 supported people. She still works at Refugee Action, now managing a central specialist team working on the Choices service (assisted voluntary return). She has worked alongside Asylum Support Appeals Project since it was launched, and has been on ASAP’s Management Committee for two years.

Joana Ball

Joana joined the ASAP management committee in May 2015. She graduated from Durham University in economics in 2012 and is currently training to be a chartered accountant at a medium sized London firm. She is specialising in charities and not-for-profit audit.

Nicola Parker​

Nicola has a strong background in HR, currently holding the post of Head of HR at Refugee Action.  Nicola joined the Management Committee in May 2015.

Geneveive Seddon

Genevieve Joined the Management Committee in May 2015, bringing a wealth of accounting and auditing knowledge.    Geneveive is currently the Financial Reporting and Control Manager at Cancwer Research UK and has previously held various posts at Deloitte.

Amelia Seeto

Amelia is the Head of Communications and Marketing at The Big Issue Group.  Prior to that, Amelia was the Communications Director for the United Nations Association of Australia. She has worked as a communications and fundraising specialist for various national charities in Australia and Spain.  Amelia has an MA in Strategic Public Relations and Human Rights Communication.  Amelia joined the Management Committee in July 2016.

Alasdair Mackenzie